Can I still call these “holiday cookies” now that Christmas is over?

I meant to post this recipe on the 24th, but my relatives wound up surprising us all by showing up for Christmas dinner an hour early, so my plan was nixed.

Anyway, I found the recipe for this Argentinian cookie in Spanish here, and lovingly translated it and tested it on Christmas eve. These cookies are really beautiful, and they taste marvelous.

ALFAJORES:

  • 1 cup margarine/butter/lard/shortening (I used margarine)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3 cups corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tbsp brandy
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • finely grated coconut (I took shredded coconut and ran it through the blender for desired consistency)
  • Dulce de leche (1 bottle/jar from any Latin American grocer should suffice. I used Goya brand, but they’re all the same.)
  1. Sift flour, corn starch, baking soda and baking powder together.
  2. Blend margarine/butter/lard/shortening with sugar, yolks, brandy, vanilla, lemon zest. Combine with flour mix.
  3. Roll dough out on a dry, floured surface. Cut out in small circles approx. 1-2 inches in diameter (I used a champagne flute as a cookie cutter. A shot glass would work really well too). Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.
  4. Take baked, cooled alfajores and assemble sandwiches with dulce de leche in the center. Make sure to “paint” extra dulce along the edge of each alfajor sandwich to form a tacky surface for the coconut. I did this with my finger, but a knife or small spoon would probably work too.
  5. Roll the edges of your cookies in coconut. When finished, dust with powdered sugar.

The final product will be a powdery, slightly lemony shortbread sandwich that goes really nicely with coffee.

Enjoy!

