(Warning: This post is kind of personal and sappy. I’ll get back to the usual stuff next week. Bear with me.)

It’s hard to believe, but we’ve just plowed through another year. 2009 was a total whirlwind for me–never in my life have I worked so hard, played so hard, or been so happy. I won’t get into the particulars, but those nearest me know that I had a very difficult 2008, and a lot of 2009 was spent rebuilding and moving forward. All in all, it was good.

The past year brought tremendous personal growth and change. As far as I can remember, looking back right now, in the last 12 months I…

  • Moved into a house full of strangers and instantly gained 5 fantastic new friends
  • Had my second short fiction publication
  • Started practicing yoga
  • Went to Mexico!
  • Graduated from university
  • Got some new student press jobs
  • Had a terrific internship
  • Worked an excess of really awful part-time jobs acquired from Craigslist
  • Started weekly babysitting for a really chill little guy
  • Got a stimulating contract position in the public policy sector
  • Joined Toronto’s Amadeus choir
  • Interviewed one of my teenage heroes, Lloyd Kaufman
  • Started writing this here blog 🙂
  • Visited Brooklyn, Washington D.C., Ottawa, Montreal (twice!), and Milwaukee (four times!)
  • Went to my very first friends’ wedding.
  • Ate lamb’s tongue, rabbit terrine, duck prosciutto, various pork products, octopus and bone marrow in the same decadent meal (!)

Above all, I prevented myself from going crazy, which is perhaps my greatest accomplishment of all. Who knows what 2010 will bring, but I’m anticipating the following: a return to my writing and editing roots, moving into a swank new apartment in February, an exciting trip to Europe in the spring, practicing my guitar and mandolin with some regularity, sewing more, listening to more soul music (preferably on vinyl), and maybe getting a new bike.

That’s my bit of reflective sentiment for the year. I wish you all the best of health, happiness, and well being for 2010.

