I don’t feel like writing book reports anymore, but I still want to keep track of the books I’ve read since my birthday. So, in order:

3.) Once Upon A Quinceañera: Coming of Age in the USA by Julia Alvarez. Excellent book on Latina identity in the U.S. and the sad sociological truths that exist alongside this lavish blow-out ball.

4.) Love and Rockets vol. 1: Music for Mechanics by Los Bros Hernandez. Brilliant book. Strong, punk rock Chicana leads.

5.) Love and Rockets vol. 2: Chelo’s Burden by Gilbert Hernandez. I prefer the Maggie and Hopey stories, but this was cool too.

6.) Love and Rockets vol. 3: Las Mujeres Perdidas by Los Bros Hernandez. Holy shit I’m in love.

7.) The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion. I have nothing new to add to this conversation. Just read it.

8.) The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2010, ed. Dave Eggers. Everything in this series is pitch-perfect.

